
Wednesday, January 27, 2010
Wednesday, January 20, 2010
Saturday, January 16, 2010
Shhh......What's that? Listen.....
Silence. That's what we heard. We hadn't heard silence for about 6 weeks now. Landon had gone to sleep in his crib. Hayden was sitting peacefully on the couch. Jeff out of nowhere shooshes us and says "listen". I said "what? I don't hear anything." His response was exactly; it's quiet. The baby wasn't crying and we weren't holding him and he wasn't in his swing. Hasn't happened since then but we relished those 20 minutes. I can thank prevacid and colic calm gripe water. The colic calm is the best stuff. Within a few minutes of giving our little Landon this stuff, he is a much happier baby. I think I will order a whole pallet. The only down side is that it's black and stains everything. As you can imagine we have onsies and gowns, blankets and footy pj's with icky black stains on them but the baby that's wearing these stained clothes is a content baby and for that I am thankful.
Wednesday, January 13, 2010
Potty Party
Addison and Hayden really like to play together and who would have thought they would like to play together on the potty chair. It was funny Hayden kept trying to make Addison sit on the potty by pulling her arm and physically putting her on the potty. Even though no one actually went pee pee on the potty they had fun practicing.
Friday, January 8, 2010
We Love Aunt Jilly
Today was a great day. Aunt Jilly came over and spent all day and evening with us since she had a snow day. Hayden really had a good time playing outside in the snow with her and jumping in his bounce house. He loves the attention he gets. It was great that I got to take 2 naps and Hayden even took one with me. Hayden and I woke up after 6 to a homemade pot pie cooking in the oven. It was delicious.
Also today, Hayden continued to sit unprompted on his potty. After eating dinner he went and sat on his potty and said that he pee peed. He has been saying this but not actually peeing. This time Jeff and I did not acknowledge what he said and aunt Jilly half heartedly said oh great job Hayden. A few minutes later Jilly got up and looked in the potty and to our surprise he actually had peed in the potty. We then lavished him with praise and a sticker for his success. Looks like he is training himself with little help from us.
Jilly took some great photos and videos throughout the day. Thanks Jilly for all the help you've provided since Landon's arrival. We'll repay it when you decide to expand your family.
Thursday, January 7, 2010
My Pee Pee in Potty
Ok, so he really looks like he's trying really really hard at this potty thing. He asked to sit on the potty yesterday and has continued to sit with no success literally 20 times in less than 24 hours. He had on one piece footy pj's so that's why he has no clothes on. He keeps taking his clothes off, pulling off his diaper and wanting to sit for 2 seconds on the potty. He stands up and says "my pee pee in potty". Earlier today I found hims standing naked in front of the potty acting like he was taking a leak. I think its great he is showing an interest but I am not really planning on doing anything full force until the spring. For now he can sit and practice and if by some chance he actually does go then great but I am not in any hurry and don't want to force the issue.
Sleeping, Smiling, Sick Baby
Well yesterday we made it to the doctors for our check up. Our little baby is no longer little (although he was born pretty big at 8 lbs 3 oz and 20 inches long). In 4 weeks time he has gained almost 2 1/2 pounds and weighs in at a whooping 10 pounds 14 oz and 22 inches long. He is in the 75th percentile across the board. I think he might tower over Hayden who has always been below the 50th percentile and at one time was 10% in weight. While at the doctor we discussed how we are having to hold Landon about 22 hours a day and how he cries non stop if he is not held. We are at wits end. Well it appears Landon has reason to cry, he has a large communicating hydrocele with a hernia and reflux (just like big brother did). We were given a prescription for prilosec and referred to a surgeon. I was told we could no longer co sleep for the risk of SIDS is greatest in the next 8 weeks. I don't like co sleeping but really it has been the only way to get sleep at this point. So last night we didn't co sleep. I stayed up until midnight with a fussy baby in my moby wrap bouncy around the house saying my continuous shhh's and finally gave in and put a pacifier in his mouth. I have been against this but at this point if it makes him happy then by all means he can go to town on a paci. Finally got him feed, changed and settled and then I headed to bed. Jeff took over with Landon waking up at 2:30 but got a diaper change and replacement of his cork a.k.a. paci and he slept until 4:15 when I traded places with Jeff and headed downstairs while he headed to the bed. I changed and feed him then he was back to sleep until 6:45 and he then was changed and feed then had some awake time and I got my first REAL smile! Yeah! I had gotten lots of dream and sleepy smiles but this was the first genuine smile. He had a great night which translates to everyone being happy. Now all this great sleep he had was in his swing but right now I consider any sleep that isn't on me or beside me a victory. Now if we can repeat this for another night and another and another. Is that asking too much? Maybe but maybe not.
Wednesday, January 6, 2010
Brothers
Hayden has done remarkable taking on the role of big brother.Just tonight when I was getting him ready for bed I told him to go give daddy a hug and kiss and tell him goodnight. He did as I asked and the did the same to Landon without any instruction to do so. Every night when he gets home he comes in and asks 'where's baby' and gives him a kiss and a pat (or a pet as he calls it). Earlier tonight Landon was in his swing as my arms were tired from holding him all day (he cries a lot) so I put him in his swing and he was crying. Hayden went over to the swing and was rubbing on him saying 'shh shh shh shh it's okay' when this failed he raised his voice and said ' be quite'. If only any of these techniques could comfort the baby. I again am typing one handed as I hold a baby who is sound asleep but as soon as I try to put him in the pack in play, swing, vibrating chair, bed, or any other surface he is no longer peacefully sleeping but instead red faced and screaming until he is picked back up. I don't remember Hayden crying this much when we weren't holding him. I am trying to enjoy my sweet baby as I know this time won't last forever but right now I feel like I will have a baby in my arms forever. For now I stay in the basement with the baby until 1 am and Jeff sleeps then he takes over until 4 am while I sleep then at 4 we all co sleep until 7. or should I say they sleep as it is hard to really sleep with a baby on my chest but at least I do nod off a time or two and get to close my eyes. Hayden slept much better starting out in his crib after we held him non stop the first 2 days then we both looked at each other (me and Jeff) and said we can't hold him like this indefinitely so he went to his crib and would cry for just a few minutes and then sleep 3 hours at a time to wake up only for a feeding. Landon will just cry and cry until we pick him up and then no one gets any sleep. During the day its more of the same. Can't sit him down for any length of time although some days he does nap in his swing and he did sleep in his crib for some naps the first few weeks but that is a thing of the past. I really don't want to wish this time away but I will enjoy when he needs me a little less. In the meantime I have invested in a sling and am wearing him to give my arms a break.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


